# MINUTES REGULAR MEETING OF THE AGOURA HILLS CITY COUNCIL – OFFICIAL REORGANIZATION

## Civic Center – Council Chambers 30001 Ladyface Court, Agoura Hills, California 91301 Wednesday, November 28, 2012 6:00 P.M.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Mayor Edelston.

The flag salute was led by Boy Scout Troop #775.

The invocations were led by Father Dave Heney and Rabbi Moshe Bryski.

Present were: Mayor John M. Edelston, Mayor Pro Tem Denis Weber,

Councilmember Illece Buckley Weber, Councilmember William

D. Koehler, and Councilmember Harry Schwarz.

Also Present were: City Manager Greg Ramirez, City Attorney Candice K. Lee,

Assistant City Manager Nathan Hamburger, Deputy City Manager Louis Celaya, Executive Assistant Patricia Wiley, Administrative Analyst Celeste Bird, Administrative Secretary Sheila Keckhut, Director of Finance Christy Pinuelas, Finance Manager Melinda Brodsly, Public Works Director/City Engineer Ramiro Adeva, Public Works Project Manager Chris Dodd, Administrative Secretary Shelley Petrelli, Building Official Amir Hamidzadeh, Principal Planner Allison Cook, Associate Planner Valerie Darbouze, Director of Community Services Amy Brink, Recreation Manager Donna Conlin, Recreation Manager Zach Miller, Recreation Supervisor Nick Newkirk, Community Services Coordinator Jacob Broyles, Community Services Coordinator Xochitl Castillo, Administrative Secretary Judy Ptashkin, and City

Clerk Kimberly Rodrigues.

#### **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

On a motion by Councilmember Schwarz, second by Mayor Pro Tem Weber, the Agenda was approved without objection.

#### INTRODUCTIONS OF DIGNITARIES AND SPECIAL GUESTS

Councilmember Buckley Weber introduced the dignitaries and special guests, including: Field Representative Kara Seward, representing the Honorable Senator Fran Pavley; District Director, former Agoura Hills Mayor, Louise Rishoff, representing the Honorable Assemblymember Julia Brownley; Cynthia Scott, representing the Honorable Los Angeles County Supervisor, Third District, Zev Yaroslavsky; former Mayors of the City of Agoura Hills, Jack Koenig, Darlene McBane, and Jeff Reinhardt; former Agoura Hills Councilmember Ernest Dynda; Board Member Gordon Whitehead and Assistant Superintendent of Personnel Rose Dunn, representing the Las

City Council Regular Meeting Minutes Official Reorganization November 28, 2012 Page 2

Virgenes Unified School District; Commissioners Linda Northrup and Curtis Zacuto, representing the Agoura Hills Planning Commission; Chairman John LaRocca, President/CEO Jill Lederer and Director of Governmental and Economic Affairs Sarah Ekeberg, representing the Greater Conejo Valley Chamber of Commerce; Special Guests Father David Heney and Rabbi Moshe Bryski who provided the invocations; Special Guest Chief William J. McSweeney, who will administer the oaths of office for the incoming Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem; Lieutenant Todd Weber, Deputy Shawn Brownell and Deputy Robert DeSantis, representing the Lost Hills/Malibu Sheriff's Station; and Battalion Chief Anthony Williams, representing the Los Angeles County Fire Department, Division 7.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

The following person(s) spoke:

Bruce Boyer, Agoura Hills Steve Giboney, Thousand Oaks Chuck Cohen

#### 2012 CITY COUNCIL REORGANIZATION

Outgoing Mayor's Remarks

Mayor Edelston gave his remarks as outgoing Mayor. As part of his remarks, Mayor Edelston introduced the members of the newly established Community Coalition: Sue Lepisto, Russell Sharp, San Slawson, Kimberly Wick, and Patti Jo Wolfson, and alternate, Stefanie Rosen. In addition, Mayor Edelston presented tokens of appreciation to Reyes Adobe Days and City event sponsors Cyrena and Jean Luc Nouzille, representing Ladyface Ale Companie, and Paul Berkowitz, representing Camp Bow Wow. Lastly, Mayor Edelston presented a 2012 Business of the Year award to Matthew Huss, representing the Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel.

Presentations to Outgoing Mayor

Councilmember Koehler read a letter of congratulations on behalf of Congressman Henry Waxman. Presentations to outgoing Mayor John M. Edelston were made by: Field Representative Kara Seward, representing the Honorable Senator Fran Pavley; District Director, former Agoura Hills Mayor, Louise Rishoff, representing the Honorable Assemblymember Julia Brownley; Cynthia Scott, representing the Honorable Los Angeles County Supervisor, Third District, Zev Yaroslavsky; Gordon Whitehead, representing the Las Virgenes Unified School District; Director Barry Steinhardt, representing the Las Virgenes Municipal Water District; Chairman-Elect John LaRocca, representing the Greater Conejo Valley Chamber of Commerce; followed by Councilmember Koehler presenting a framed watercolor of Chesebro Canyon, signed by local artist Larry Deeds, from the City Council and a gift card from the City of Agoura Hills staff.

City Council Regular Meeting Minutes Official Reorganization November 28, 2012 Page 3

Election of New Mayor

Mayor Edelston opened the nominations for Mayor. The motion by Councilmember Koehler, to nominate Denis Weber as Mayor, was seconded by Councilmember Schwarz. There were no further nominations and, by unanimous consensus, Denis Weber was elected as Mayor.

Election of New Mayor Pro Tem

Mayor Weber opened the nominations for Mayor Pro Tem. The motion by Councilmember Schwarz, to nominate William D. Koehler as Mayor Pro Tem, was seconded by Councilmember Buckley Weber. There were no further nominations and, by unanimous consensus, William D. Koehler was elected as Mayor Pro Tem.

Introduction of Chief William J. McSweeney

Councilmember Schwarz introduced Chief William J. McSweeney.

Administer Oaths of Office to Incoming Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem

Chief William J. McSweeney administered the Oaths of Office to Mayor Weber and Mayor Pro Tem Koehler.

Incoming Mayor's Remarks

Mayor Weber gave his incoming remarks.

#### CITY COUNCIL COMMENTS

Councilmember Edelston congratulated Mayor Weber on the beginning of his term as Mayor and wished everyone a Happy Hanukkah, Merry Christmas, and prosperous and healthy New Year.

Councilmember Schwarz introduced Denis Weber as the new Mayor and congratulated him on his twenty years serving on the City Council and also congratulated outgoing Mayor Edelston and incoming Mayor Pro Tem Koehler.

Councilmember Buckley Weber congratulated outgoing Mayor Edelston on a great year and stated that she looked forward to working with Mayor Weber in the upcoming year. In addition, she introduced the following special guests in attendance: former Las Virgenes Unified School District Superintendent Bud Marley; Principal Larry Misel from Agoura High School, and Commissioner Steve Rishoff representing the Agoura Hills Planning Commission.

Councilmember Koehler joined his colleagues in thanking John Edelston for a wonderful 2012 and stated that he looked forward to the same with Denis Weber in 2013; clarified that although Councilmember Buckley Weber and Mayor Weber share the same name, they are not married or related; thanked everyone for attending the reorganization event; recognized former Agoura Hills

City Council Regular Meeting Minutes Official Reorganization November 28, 2012 Page 4

Planning Commission Chair Diane Walker, who resides in Colorado; and wished everyone a happy holiday.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

At 7:14 p.m., on a motion by Councilmember Edelston, second by Councilmember Schwarz, the City Council unanimously consented to adjourn to a Regular Meeting of the City Council at 6:00 p.m., on Wednesday, December 19, 2012, in the Council Chambers of the Civic Center with a Closed Session at 5:00 p.m. The Civic Center is located at 30001 Ladyface Court, Agoura Hills.

Kimberly M. Rodrigues, MPPA, MMC City Clerk