RESOLUTION NO. 06-1412

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AGOURA HILLS SUPPORTING AB 2015 (LIEU) WHICH ENHANCES MUNICIPAL REPRESENTATION ON THE SOUTH COAST AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, it is in the interest of all municipal governments that cities be equitably represented on policy-making regional boards; and,

WHEREAS, the current number of municipal representatives on the South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) does not fully recognize cities in the South Bay and Westside Sectors of Los Angeles County and places the cities of Calabasas and Malibu in what is identified by statute as the Eastern Sector of the SCAQMD jurisdiction, and,

WHEREAS, providing separate seats for a city within the Western Sector and the City of Los Angeles will ensure that the population of the City of Los Angeles and the populations of smaller cities in the Western and Eastern Sectors are represented on the SCAQMD Board commensurate with their populations; and,

WHEREAS, realigning cities within Los Angeles County into sectors which are more geographically equitable is significant and important to regional policy decisionmaking; and,

WHEREAS, the current proposal would retain the expertise of the Sacramento appointees; and,

WHEREAS, the current proposal has received the support of the South Bay Cities Council of Governments, the Las Virgenes-Malibu Council of Governments, the Gateway Council of Governments, the Westside Cities Council of Governments, the League of California Cities, Los Angeles County Division, the Contract Cities Association, the Independent Cities Association and the City of Los Angeles and a growing list of cities throughout the region;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the City of Agoura Hills supports AB 2015 by Assemblymember Ted Lieu which requires a change in membership of the SCAQMD Board to add 4 additional municipal members: 1 additional municipal representative for each county represented by the District.

PASSED, APPROVED, and ADOPTED this 26th day of April, 2006, by the following vote to wit:

AYES: NOES: ABSTAIN: ABSENT:

ATTEST:

Denis Weber, Mayor

Kimberly M. Rodrigues, City Clerk