#### **MINUTES**

## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE

### AGOURA HILLS CITY COUNCIL - OFFICIAL REORGANIZATION

Civic Center – Council Chambers 30001 Ladyface Court, Agoura Hills, CA 91301 December 5, 2005 at 6:15 p.m.

The meeting was called to order at 6:15 p.m.

The flag salute was led by Mayor Corridori.

Present were: Mayor Ed Corridori, Mayor Pro Tem Denis Weber,

Councilmember John Edelston, Councilmember Dan Kuperberg,

and Councilmember Jeff Reinhardt.

Also Present were: City Manager Greg Ramirez, City Attorney Craig Steele, Assistant

City Attorney Candice Lee, Assistant to the City Manager

Carol Tubelis, Administrative Analyst Celeste Bird,

Administrative Secretary Judy Ptashkin, Accounting Specialist II

Melinda Brodsley, and City Clerk Kimberly Rodrigues.

## APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On a motion by Councilmember Kuperberg, second by Councilmember Reinhardt, the Agenda was approved without objection.

#### **PRESENTATION**

Mayor Corridori introduced Judge Lawrence Mira of the County of Los Angeles Superior Court who performed the Oaths of Office.

#### **ORAL COMMUNICATIONS**

There were no speakers.

#### **CONSENT CALENDAR**

On a motion by Councilmember Edelston, second by Councilmember Kuperberg, the Consent Calendar was approved 5-0.

1. Approve Treasurer's Report for October 2005

ACTION: Approved 5-0

City Council Special Meeting Minutes Official Reorganization December 5, 2005 Page 2

2. Adoption of Resolution No. 05-1395; Reciting the Fact of the General Municipal Election held on November 8, 2005, Declaring the Result and such other Matters as Provided by Law

ACTION: Approved 5-0

#### 2005 CITY COUNCIL REORGANIZATION

3. Oaths of Office of Incoming Councilmembers

Judge Mira administered the Oaths of Office to incoming Agoura Hills Councilmembers William Koehler, Harry Schwarz, and Denis Weber.

4. Election of Mayor

Mayor Pro Tem Weber opened the nominations for Mayor. Councilmember Kuperberg nominated Denis Weber as Mayor by acclamation. Denis Weber was elected, by acclamation, as incoming Mayor.

5. Election of Mayor Pro Tem

Councilmember Edelston stated the following: "Insofar as it is possible, each Councilmember should have a fair and equal opportunity to serve as Mayor and Mayor-Pro Tem. In each Agoura Hills election, either two or three Councilmembers are elected. In the vast majority of elections, incumbents will always receive more votes than will a challenger. The current succession guideline establishes a method whereby an outgoing Mayor will serve as Mayor again before first time elected Councilmembers are added to the rotation."

Following discussion, the motion by Councilmember Edelston "to defer selection of Mayor Pro Tem, (including asking for nominations) until the December 14, 2005 City Council meeting to give the new City Council an opportunity, at its first meeting to discuss this issue and determine whether to retain or change existing succession guidelines", was seconded by Councilmember Koehler for discussion purposes. Upon further discussion and a roll call vote, the motion was denied 4-1, with Councilmember Edelston in favor.

Mayor Weber opened the nominations for Mayor Pro Tem. Councilmember Schwarz nominated Dan Kuperberg as Mayor Pro Tem by acclamation. Councilmember Edelston requested a roll call vote. Dan Kuperberg was elected as Mayor Pro Tem on a 4-1 roll call vote, with Councilmember Edelston voting no.

City Council Special Meeting Minutes Official Reorganization December 5, 2005 Page 3

6. Oaths of Office of Incoming Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem

Judge Mira administered the Oaths of Office to Mayor Weber and Mayor Pro Tem Kuperberg.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

At 6:30 p.m., on a motion by Mayor Pro Tem Kuperberg, second by Councilmember Schwarz, the City Council unanimously consented to adjourn the meeting to 7:00 p.m. on Monday, December 5, 2005, for the Ceremonial Reorganization Meeting of the City Council at the Agoura Hills/Calabasas Community Center, 27040 Malibu Hills Road, and then to the next Regularly Scheduled City Council Meeting at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, December 14, 2005, with a Closed Session at 6:00 p.m.

Kimberly M. Rodrigues, CMC City Clerk