MINUTES

REGULAR MEETING – VIDEO CONFERENCE

AGOURA HILLS PLANNING COMMISSION
Civic Center – Council Chambers
30001 Ladyface Court, Agoura Hills, California 91301
Thursday, June 18, 2020
6:30 p.m.

The Planning Commission meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Chair Asuncion.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Commissioner Wolf.

Present were: Chair John R. Asuncion, Vice Chair Murtaza Mogri, and

Commissioners Kate Anderson, Michael Justice, and Jeremy

Wolf.

Also Present were: Community Development Director Ramiro Adeva, Planning

Director Doug Hooper, Assistant City Attorney Nick Ghirelli, Assistant Planning Director Allison Cook, Assistant Planner Katrina Garcia, Assistant City Manager Nathan Hamburger, Deputy City Manager Louis Celaya, Executive Assistant Amber Victoria, and City Clerk/Recording Secretary Kimberly

Rodrigues.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

ACTION: Commissioner Justice moved to approve the Agenda, as presented.

Vice Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following

roll call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners

Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

NOES: None. ABSENT: None.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

There were no public comments.

1. Minutes – May 21, 2020 Regular Planning Commission Meeting

ACTION: Commissioner Wolf moved to adopt the minutes, as presented. Vice

Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following roll

call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners

Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

Planning Commission Regular Meeting Minutes Video Conference – Remote Meeting June 18, 2020 Page 2

NOES: None. ABSENT: None.

DISCUSSION / ACTION

 Discussion Regarding Resolution of Denial for a Request to Construct a New 4,180 Square-Foot Single-Family Home with a 730 Square-Foot Attached Garage (Case Nos. CUP-01533-2018 and OAK-01534-2018) (Public Hearing was held on June 4, 2020)

Following presentation of the staff report, Chair Asuncion opened the floor for public comments.

Public comments were received by email and forwarded to the Planning Commission prior to the meeting by the following person(s):

Michael N. Papanicolaou, Agoura Hills (four comments submitted) Antonia Akhavan, Agoura Hills Sonja Trauss, Executive Director, YIMBY Law, San Francisco Arvind Aurora, Agoura Hills, Applicant

The following person spoke (remote live testimony):

Arvind Aurora, Agoura Hills, Applicant

There were no further public speakers.

Following further deliberation, the Planning Commission commented as follows:

Commissioner Justice explained why he could not make any of the findings.

Vice Chair Mogri stated that he could make all the findings.

Commissioner Wolf stated that he could make all the findings.

Commissioner Anderson stated that she could not make all the findings

Chair Asuncion stated that he could make all the findings.

ACTION:

Commissioner Wolf moved to adopt Resolution No. 20-1245; A RESOLUTION OF THE PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF AGOURA HILLS, CALIFORNIA, DENYING CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT CASE NO. CUP-01533-2018 AND OAK TREE PERMIT OAK-01534-2018 FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF A NEW SINGLE-FAMILY RESIDENCE LOCATED AT 28340 BALKINS DRIVE. Vice Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 3-2, by the following roll call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioner

Wolf.

Planning Commission Regular Meeting Minutes Video Conference – Remote Meeting June 18, 2020 Page 3

NOES: Commissioners Anderson and Justice.

ABSENT: None.

PLANNING COMMISSION / STAFF COMMENTS

Commissioner Wolf, Vice Chair Mogri, and Chair Asuncion expressed their thanks to their fellow commissioners and staff.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Asuncion announced the next Regular Meeting of the Planning Commission would be held at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, July 2, 2020, in the Council Chambers. The meeting will be held by video conference and in-person attendance by the public in the Council Chambers will not be permitted.

ACTION: At 7:05 p.m., Commissioner Justice moved to adjourn the meeting.

Vice Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following

roll call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners

Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

NOES: None. ABSENT: None.

Kimberly M. Rodrigues, MMC City Clerk/Recording Secretary