#### **MINUTES**

### **REGULAR MEETING – VIDEO CONFERENCE**

AGOURA HILLS PLANNING COMMISSION
Civic Center – Council Chambers
30001 Ladyface Court, Agoura Hills, California 91301
Thursday, July 2, 2020
6:30 p.m.

The Planning Commission meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Chair Asuncion.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Commissioner Wolf.

Present were: Chair John R. Asuncion, Vice Chair Murtaza Mogri, and

Commissioners Kate Anderson, Michael Justice, and Jeremy

Wolf.

Also Present were: Planning Director Doug Hooper, Assistant City Attorney Nick

Ghirelli, Assistant Planning Director Allison Cook, City Manager Nathan Hamburger, Deputy City Manager Louis Celaya, Associate Planner Valerie Darbouze, Executive Assistant Amber Victoria, and City Clerk/Recording Secretary Kimberly

Rodrigues.

## **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

ACTION: Commissioner Justice moved to approve the Agenda, as presented.

Vice Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following

roll call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners

Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

NOES: None. ABSENT: None.

### **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no public comments.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

There were no public comments.

1. Minutes – May 4, 2020 Regular Planning Commission Meeting

ACTION: Commissioner Justice moved to adopt the minutes, as presented.

Commissioner Wolf seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the

following roll call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners

Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

NOES: None. ABSENT: None.

### **DISCUSSION / ACTION**

2. REQUEST: Request for approval to adopt a sign program by updating

the signage at an existing USA Gas Station; and to make a finding of exemption under the California Environmental

Quality Act (CEQA).

APPLICANT: A&S Engineering

28405 Sand Canyon Road Canyon Country, CA 91387

CASE NO.: SIGN-01729-2020

LOCATION: 5000 Kanan Road (2061-006-052)

**ENVIRONMENTAL** 

DETERMINATION: Exempt from CEQA per Section 15311 of the CEQA

Guidelines.

ZONING

DESIGNATION: Planned Development (PD) – (Agoura Village Specific

Plan)

GENERAL PLAN

DESIGNATION: Planned Development (PD)

**RECOMMENDATION**: Staff recommended the Planning Commission approve

Sign Permit, Case No. SIGN-01729-2020, subject to

conditions, based on the findings of the Resolution.

Following presentation of the staff report, Chair Asuncion opened the floor for

public comments.

Public comments were received by email and forwarded to the Planning Commission prior to the meeting by the following person(s):

Ed Corridori, Agoura Hills Cyrena Nouzille, Agoura Hills Joan Yacovone, Agoura Hills

The following person spoke (remote live testimony):

Ahmad Ghaderi, Applicant

Planning Commission Regular Meeting Minutes Video Conference – Remote Meeting July 2, 2020 Page 3

There were no further public speakers.

Following further discussion, it was consensus of the Planning Commission to remove the LED numbers in favor of changeable numbers and to continue this item to allow time for the applicant to review and provide an alternate color scheme for the red on the signage.

ACTION: Commissioner Justice moved to continue this item to the Regular

Planning Commission Meeting of August 6, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. Vice Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following roll

call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners

Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

NOES: None. ABSENT: None.

### PLANNING COMMISSION / STAFF COMMENTS

Commissioners Anderson and Wolf, Vice Chair Mogri, and Chair Asuncion expressed their thanks to staff and wished everyone a safe 4<sup>th</sup> of July.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Chair Asuncion announced the next Regular Meeting of the Planning Commission would be held at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, July 16, 2020, in the Council Chambers. The meeting will be held by video conference and in-person attendance by the public in the Council Chambers will not be permitted.

ACTION: At 7:32 p.m., Commissioner Wolf moved to adjourn the meeting.

Vice Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following

roll call vote:

AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners

Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

NOES: None.

ABSENT: None.

Kimberly M. Rodrigues, MMC City Clerk/Recording Secretary