## MINUTES REGULAR MEETING – VIDEO CONFERENCE AGOURA HILLS PLANNING COMMISSION Civic Center – Council Chambers 30001 Ladyface Court, Agoura Hills, California 91301 Thursday, August 20, 2020 6:30 p.m.

The Planning Commission meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Chair Asuncion.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Commissioner Anderson.

- Present were: Chair John R. Asuncion, Vice Chair Murtaza Mogri, and Commissioners Kate Anderson, Michael Justice, and Jeremy Wolf.
- Also Present were: Planning Director Doug Hooper, Assistant City Attorney Nick Ghirelli, Assistant Planning Director Allison Cook, Associate Planner Valerie Darbouze, City Manager Nathan Hamburger, Assistant City Manager Ramiro Adeva, Deputy City Manager Louis Celaya, Executive Assistant Amber Victoria, and City Clerk/Recording Secretary Kimberly Rodrigues.

# **APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

- ACTION: Vice Chair Mogri moved to approve the Agenda, as presented. Councilmember Justice seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following roll call vote:
  - AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.
  - NOES: None.
  - ABSENT: None.

# PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

There were no public comments.

- 1. Minutes July 16, 2020 Regular Planning Commission Meeting
  - ACTION: Councilmember Justice moved to adopt the minutes, as presented. Commissioner Wolf seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following roll call vote:
    - AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.

Planning Commission Regular Meeting Minutes Video Conference – Remote Meeting August 20, 2020 Page 2

NOES: None.

ABSENT: None.

#### **CONTINUED DISCUSSION / ACTION**

- 2. REQUEST: Request for approval to approve a sign program for the existing USA/Speedway Gas Station; and to make a finding of exemption under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA). (Continued from the Regular Planning Commission Meeting of August 6, 2020)
  - APPLICANT: A&S Engineering 28405 Sand Canyon Road Canyon Country, CA 91387
  - CASE NO.: SIGN-01729-2020
  - LOCATION: 5000 Kanan Road
  - ENVIRONMENTAL DETERMINATION: Exempt from CEQA per Section 15311 of the CEQA Guidelines.

#### ZONING

- DESIGNATION: Planned Development (PD) (Agoura Village Specific Plan) GENERAL PLAN
- DESIGNATION: Planned Development (PD)
- **RECOMMENDATION**: Staff recommended the Planning Commission adopt the draft resolution of approval for Case No. SIGN-01729-2020, subject to conditions of approval.

Following presentation of the staff report, Chair Asuncion opened the floor for public comments.

The following person spoke (remote live testimony):

Ahmad Ghaderi, Applicant

There were no further public speakers.

Upon further deliberation, Commissioners Anderson, Justice, Wolf, Vice Chair Mogri and Chair Asuncion stated they could make all the findings to approve the project.

- ACTION: Councilmember Justice moved to adopt <u>Resolution No. 20-1247</u>; A RESOLUTION OF THE PLANNING COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF AGOURA HILLS, CALIFORNIA, APPROVING SIGN PERMIT CASE NO. SIGN-01729-2020 TO ESTABLISH A SIGN PROGRAM FOR NEW SIGNAGE AT THE GAS STATION LOCATED AT 5000 KANAN ROAD AND MAKING A FINDING OF EXEMPTION UNDER THE CALIFORNIA ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY ACT (CEQA). Vice Chair Mogri seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following roll call vote:
  - AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.
  - NOES: None.
  - ABSENT: None.

# PLANNING COMMISSION / STAFF COMMENTS

Commissioner Wolf spoke about community preparedness for the upcoming fire season and Chair Asuncion concurred with his comments.

## ADJOURNMENT

Chair Asuncion announced the next Regular Meeting of the Planning Commission would be held at 6:30 p.m., Thursday, September 3, 2020, in the Council Chambers. The meeting will be held by video conference and in-person attendance by the public in the Council Chambers will not be permitted.

- ACTION: At 6:58 p.m., Vice Chair Mogri moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Wolf seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following roll call vote:
  - AYES: Chair Asuncion, Vice Chair Mogri, and Commissioners Anderson, Justice, and Wolf.
  - NOES: None.
  - ABSENT: None.

Kimberly M. Rodrigues, MMC City Clerk/Recording Secretary