REPORT TO CITY COUNCIL

DATE: JANUARY 11, 2023

TO: HONORABLE MAYOR AND COUNCILMEMBERS

FROM: NATHAN HAMBURGER, CITY MANAGER

BY: KIMBERLY M. RODRIGUES, CITY CLERK

SUBJECT: PLANNING COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS

Pursuant to Section 2802 of the Agoura Hills Municipal Code, the Planning Commission shall consist of five members, each of whom shall be a resident of the City of Agoura Hills, appointed by the Mayor and ratified by the City Council. The term of office for each Planning Commissioner shall be two (2) years.

The City Clerk published and posted an advertisement for Planning Commission applications on November 18, 2022. Any resident, and registered voter, of Agoura Hills interested in being considered for appointment to the Planning Commission was provided the opportunity to submit an application by December 29, 2022 (the extended deadline).

A total of fourteen (14) Planning Commission Applications, including three (3) incumbents from the Planning Commission (i.e., John Asuncion, David Horenstein, and Murtaza Mogri), were received by the published deadline. A packet of all applications was then distributed to each Councilmember for their consideration.

Upon review of the applications, each Councilmember submitted the name of an appointee to serve on the Agoura Hills Planning Commission, for the two-year period of January 11, 2023, through January 8, 2025, as follows:

Murtaza Mogri (Mayor Chris Anstead)

Jessica Reinhardt (Mayor Pro Tem Illece Buckley Weber)
Brit Sharon (Councilmember Deborah Klein Lopez)
John Asuncion (Councilmember Penny Sylvester)
Morgan Roth (Councilmember Jeremy Wolf)

RECOMMENDATION

The City Council ratify the proposed Planning Commission appointments, as outlined above, to serve on the Agoura Hills Planning Commission for the two-year period of January 11, 2023, through January 8, 2025.