MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING AGOURA HILLS CITY COUNCIL – OFFICIAL REORGANIZATION Civic Center – Council Chambers 30001 Ladyface Court, Agoura Hills, California 91301 Tuesday, December 5, 2023 6:00 p.m.

The City Council meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Mayor Anstead.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Girl Scout Troop 176.

The invocation was administered by Mr. Alan Salazar.

- Present were: Mayor Chris Anstead, Mayor Pro Tem Illece Buckley Weber, Councilmember Deborah Klein Lopez, Councilmember Penny Sylvester, and Councilmember Jeremy Wolf.
- Also Present were: City Manager Nathan Hamburger, Assistant City Manager Ramiro Adeva, Deputy City Manager Louis Celaya, Human Resources Manager Celeste Bird, Communications Manager Miranda Myers, Management Analyst Amber Victoria, Administrative Analyst John Treichler, Director of Community Development Denice Thomas, Principal Planner Robby Nesovic, Building Official Lukas Quach, Director of Public Works/City Engineer Jessica Forte, Senior Civil Engineer Charmaine Yambao, Director of Finance Diego Ibañez, Finance Manager Brenda Cho, Accountant Leah Palmer, Accountant Esteban Pineda, Director of Community Services Amy Brink, Recreation Manager Nick Newkirk, Recreation Manager Xochitl Ruwhiu, and City Clerk Kimberly M. Rodrigues.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

- ACTION: Councilmember Sylvester moved to approve the Agenda, as presented. Councilmember Lopez seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following roll call vote:
 - AYES: Mayor Anstead, Mayor Pro Tem Buckley Weber, and Councilmembers Lopez, Sylvester, and Wolf.
 - NOES: None.
 - ABSTAIN: None.
 - ABSENT: None.

INTRODUCTIONS

Mayor Anstead introduced the dignitaries and special guests, including: District Representative Davis Han, representing the Honorable Senator Ben Allen (24th District); Honorable Assemblywoman Jacqui Irwin (42nd District) and Deputy District Director Nancy

City Council Special Meeting Minutes Agoura Hills City Council – Official Reorganization Tuesday, December 5, 2023 Page 2

Frawley; Field Deputy Sophia Soudani, representing the Honorable Supervisor Lindsey P. Horvath (3rd District); former Agoura Hills Mayors Ed Corridori, Jack Koenig, Dan Kuperberg, Linda L. Northrup, and Jeff Reinhardt; representing the Agoura Hills Planning Commission, Chair John R. Asuncion and Vice Chair Kate Anderson; representing the City of Calabasas, Councilmember Edward Albrecht; representing the City of Malibu, Councilmember Paul Grisanti; representing the Las Virgenes Unified School District, President Lesli Stein and Yerba Buena Elementary School Principal Jessica Marshall; representing the Las Virgenes Municipal Water District, President Jay Lewitt and Director Andy Coradeschi; representing the Lost Hills Sheriff's Station, Lt. Roman Foss; representing the Los Angeles County Fire Department, Division 7, Assistant Fire Chief Drew Smith and Battalion Chief Jeff Harms; representing the Greater Conejo Valley Chamber of Commerce, Director of Government Affairs and Tourism Josh Gray; special guest, Alan Salazar, who administered the invocation; special guest, Chris Leding, who would be administering the oaths of office; and special guests, Girl Scout Troop 176, for leading the flag ceremony. Following the introductions, Mayor Anstead extended a warm welcome to all attendees, especially to the family members and guests of the City Council, and also made a special acknowledgement to the appointed members of City advisory boards, commissions, and committees, including the many City volunteers who serve the community.

2023 CITY COUNCIL REORGANIZATION

(Please refer to the 2023 City Council Reorganization Program)

A. Outgoing Mayor Remarks

Mayor Anstead made his outgoing remarks.

B. Presentations to Outgoing Mayor

Mayor Pro Tem Buckley Weber introduced the presenters. Presentations to outgoing Mayor Chris Anstead were made by: District Representative Davis Han, representing the Honorable Senator Ben Allen (24th District); Honorable Assemblywoman Jacqui Irwin (42nd District) and Deputy District Director Nancy Frawley; the Honorable Supervisor Lindsey P. Horvath (3rd District) who provided a few words virtually, followed by Field Deputy Sophia Soudani who presented a certificate in-person; Councilmember Edward Albrecht, representing the City of Calabasas, who made congratulatory remarks; President Jay Lewitt and Director Andy Coradeschi, representing the Las Virgenes Municipal Water District, who made congratulatory remarks; and Director of Government Affairs and Tourism Josh Gray, representing the Greater Conejo Valley Chamber of Commerce. Mayor Pro Tem Buckley Weber then presented gifts to Mayor Anstead on behalf of the City Council and Agoura Hills staff.

The City Council made their comments to outgoing Mayor Anstead.

C. Election of New Mayor

Mayor Anstead opened the nominations for Mayor.

City Council Special Meeting Minutes Agoura Hills City Council – Official Reorganization Tuesday, December 5, 2023 Page 3

- ACTION: Councilmember Lopez moved to nominate Illece Buckley Weber as Mayor. Councilmember Sylvester seconded. There being no further nominations, the motion carried 5-0, by the following roll call vote:
 - AYES: Mayor Anstead, Mayor Pro Tem Buckley Weber, and Councilmembers Lopez, Sylvester, and Wolf.
 - NOES: None.
 - ABSTAIN: None.
 - ABSENT: None.

Illece Buckley Weber was elected as Mayor.

D. Election of New Mayor Pro Tem

Mayor Buckley Weber opened the nominations for Mayor Pro Tem.

- ACTION: Councilmember Wolf moved to nominate Penny Sylvester as Mayor Pro Tem. Councilmember Anstead seconded. There being no further nominations, the motion carried 5-0, by the following roll call vote:
 - AYES: Mayor Buckley Weber and Councilmembers Anstead, Lopez, Sylvester, and Wolf.
 - NOES: None.
 - ABSTAIN: None.
 - ABSENT: None.

Penny Sylvester was elected as Mayor Pro Tem.

E. Administer Oaths of Office for Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem

Chris Leding administered the Oaths of Office to incoming Mayor Illece Buckley Weber and Mayor Pro Tem Penny Sylvester.

F. Incoming Mayor Remarks

Councilmember Anstead introduced Mayor Buckley Weber who gave her incoming remarks.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no Public Comments.

COUNCIL COMMENTS

Mayor Pro Tem Sylvester, Councilmember Lopez, Councilmember Anstead, and Councilmember Wolf gave their personal congratulatory remarks to Mayor Buckley Weber.

City Council Special Meeting Minutes Agoura Hills City Council – Official Reorganization Tuesday, December 5, 2023 Page 4

ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Buckley Weber thanked everyone for attending and extended appreciation to two of the local businesses that are located in the Whizin Market Square, noting that the lovely floral arrangements were created by Floret Floral Design, and, she requested attendees to make sure to stop in the lobby after the meeting for a special treat from Carrara's Pastries and Café to enjoy at home.

Mayor Buckley Weber announced the next Regular City Council Meeting would be held at 6:00 p.m., Wednesday, December 13, 2023, in the Council Chambers of the Civic Center.

- ACTION: At 7:20 p.m., Mayor Pro Tem Sylvester moved to adjourn the meeting. Councilmember Wolf seconded. The motion carried 5-0, by the following voice vote:
 - AYES: Mayor Buckley Weber, Mayor Pro Tem Sylvester, and Councilmembers Anstead, Lopez, and Wolf.
 - NOES: None.
 - ABSTAIN: None.
 - ABSENT: None.

Kimberly M. Rodrigues, MPPA, MMC City Clerk